Roman Ruditsa

Composer, music theorist, inventor, pianist. Founder of D Notation, WWMC


    "Relying on the traditions of Franco-Flemish polyphony, Gesualdo di Venosa, taking into account the compositional styles and "techniques" of the 20th century, Ruditsa has developed a manner of writing that combines complex harmonic language, the rigor of structural organisation with the search for a direct, "live" statement. The main aspiration of Ruditsa in his work is the reliance on deep, traditional principles of organisation of polyphony, comprehension of these principles in the context of the XX-XXI centuries, as expressed in the ballet HERACLES AND THE ECHO, the poem FAREWELL WITH ANTONIO VIVALDI, the cantatas THE DAY OF THE JUDGEMENT and CANZONA DI BACCO."

    Boris Tishchenko, composer
    People's Artist of Russia, Professor


    Roman Ruditsa is a composer, music theorist, teacher of music theory subjects, pianist, harpsichordist, music critic and music software developer.

    Roman Ruditsa was born in 1972 in Tyumen, Russia. In 1995 he graduated from Saint Petersburg State Conservatory named after N.A. Rimsky-Korsakov (composition class of Sergei Slonimsky, piano and harpsichord class of Elena Seredinskaya, music theory class of Ekaterina Ruchievskaya). From 1995 till 1997 he had an assistantship in the composition class of Sergei Slonimsky, and from 1997 till 1998 had a PhD program in the musical analysis class of Dr. Ekaterina Ruchievskaya.

    Mr. Ruditsa is an author of cantatas, chamber and orchestra music. The area of his composition interests connected with a research of harmony and counterpoint, with a modern continuation of Medieval, Renaissance and Classical music traditions. Roman Ruditsa is a member of the St. Petersburg Union of Composers.

    He wrote a number of musicological works devoted to questions of musical analysis, harmony and counterpoint.

    Piano and harpsichord repertoire includes music of Jacques Champion de Chambonnières, Jean-Henri d'Anglebert and other representatives of the French harpsichord school, Cesar Franck, Franz Liszt, Mikhail Glinka, Joseph Haydn and Ludwig van Beethoven.

    Mr. Ruditsa is also known for his music criticism articles in Russian journals.

    In 2014, together with Andrey Bayadzhan, Roman Ruditsa invented the Musical Notation Keyboard and founded D Notation company, which aims to create a perfect digital note writing tool and develop mass learning of musical literacy.

    In 2021 they launched the Worldwide Music Conference (WWMC) — Scientific World Explores Music. The conference brought together brilliant scientists and musicians to present their breakthroughs in music research.

    List of major works includes:

    CANZONA DI BACCO (2006), cantata for tenor, piano solo, and orchestra, based on a text of Lorenzo de' Medici. Duration: 30'

    FAREWELL WITH ANTONIO VIVALDI (2004), a double concerto for violin, clarinet, and orchestra. Duration: 23'

    THE DAY OF THE JUDGEMENT (2001), cantata for soloists and orchestra in 3 parts, based on Russian spiritual verses. Duration: 28'

    SAMSON AND DELILAH (2004), opera fragment for soprano, tenor, and J.-B. Lully orchestra. Libretto by Ferdinand Lemaire. Duration: 18'

    HERACLES AND THE ECHO (1997), ballet for violin solo and orchestra. Duration: 15'

    GEOSPHERE'S FLOWERS (1995), symphony for chamber ensemble. Duration: 15'

    4 MOTETS ON RUSSIAN SPELLS TEXTS (1992). Duration: 17'

    WIND QUINTET (1993). Duration: 6'

    THE 6 RAKE'S STAGES (2006), based on Igor Stravinsky The Rake's Progress. Duration: 45'

    PARAPHRASE ON GALINA USTVOLSKAYA PIANO SONATA №4 (2000) for A. Webern Symphony orchestra.

    PRINCE IOSAPH AND A DESERT (1996-2008), cantata for soloists and instrumental ensemble.

    TOURNAI MASS ARRANGEMENT (2001) for 5 winds and electric guitar.

    LULLABY (2013) for piano 4 hands. Duration: 2'

    Latest scientific publications:

    Relative Musical Pitch in Formal Definition
    Proceedings of the Worldeide Music Conference 2021 Current Research in Systematic Musicology, Springer


    Andrey Bayadzhan, Mr. Ruditsa's representative:
    andrey at dnotation dot com